Root Canal, or Lobotomy?

I finally had my root canal today. Yeah, the one I’ve been needing for a week.

It went about as well as I think it could possibly have gone. And I had my first adult experience with Nitrous Oxide. I can honestly say it helped a lot getting me through the procedure without my normal anxiety.

My endodontist was super cool, and really nice. She was experienced, but young (by young I mean 40). And her nurses/hygenists/receptionists were all really nice, and also quite attractive – something which I didn’t notice till I was DONE with the procedure and not in agony. Instead, half of my face was numb and I was still a little whacked out from the Nitrous. So instead of doing what I wanted to do and asking the nice receptionist (she and I bonded because we’re both having our first vegan thanksgiving) for her number, or just giving her mine and asking her out for coffee sometime, I just thanked them very much and went home and tried to sleep it off.

I rested all afternoon till about six pm, and woke up with no one home.

Right about then, both my parents returned home, my mom with a car laden full of groceries for thanksgiving dinner we are hosting for I believe 12 family members and 2 friends.

Tomorrow I am going to go get a haircut and go to whole foods and find some sort of vegan substitute for turkey and stuffing. My aunt was kind enough to get a recipe for mashed potatoes that doesn’t require cream or eggs, and a mix for vegan gravy, so I’ll have that. And rather than try and have my 80+ year old grandmother attempt to make a separate green been casserole for me, I’m going to try and make one myself.

Why not? I’m a pretty good cook. And if I get it all started before everyone else has to monopolize the kitchen, I should have my own stuff out of the way and should only need to warm it all up before dinner starts.

Anyway, I’m happy to have my face feel just sore, rather than like someone was taking a jackhammer to my jaw. But as my title indicates, I still feel pretty out of it – almost more like someone has removed my brain rather than the root of one of my teeth…

It still hurts, and I might not get much sleep tonight. But i’m betting it’ll be more than last night (5am-9am).

And I’m excited to be able to spend thanksgiving with my family. It’s been 2 years or more since I’ve been able to do so. Last year I was in the hospital. The year before I was with my family, but was still super out of it because I’d just come out of one of the worst hospitalizations of my life (total kidney failure).

So this will be one of the first thanksgivings in a long while where I feel like I will be totally here. Where I will be present.

I’m looking forward to spending some quality time with my family after spending the last couple weeks somewhat isolated.

And I feel so blessed to have so many wonderful family members so close to me with whom I can spend this holiday.

I’ll write a post on Thursday about my feelings on the whole idea of giving thanks, I’m sure. And it’ll probably be cliche.

But that’s ok. I don’t mind. Sometimes I am so happy to have something in my life be mundane and ordinary.

Thanks for reading.

Peace to you and yours,

-Nathan

Leave a Reply

