Returning to Schedule

First of all, I would like to apologize to all of you. I made a commitment to post on this blog every day, and up until the last couple weeks I have been faithful to that. But my life has been changing so rapidly that in the past two weeks or so since my sister’s wedding, I have had a hard time keeping up. I’ve also been a bit under the weather, although I saw my pulmonologist yesterday and I think we have things ironed out on that note.

The point is, there has been a lot going on, and while that is no excuse for me not to post (in fact, a lot of the posts that I have begun but not finished or thought of writing but never got to would probably have been really interesting to read), it hopefully will ease the worry of any of my readers who might have been wondering about a potential disintegration of my blog.

Actually, one of the biggest things that has happened is that I’ve received some small employment with an organization called FeelGoodNow, Inc. They are an online social media wellness company started by a couple young women who were friends of mine at the University of Denver. One of them stumbled across The Wellness Quest through Facebook, and realized that I had some unique experience in using social media and blogging as a tool for achieving wellness goals. Plus, with my extensive experience in the health care system and my writing background, I seemed particularly suited to write some content for them in an area they felt they were lacking.

Long story short, I spoke with their content manager/editor/all-around awesome person Gigi Sukin at length and we decided that they would hire me on as a contracted freelancer to write (for now) one piece a week on health care, social media, and general wellness topics.

Essentially, it is a lot like what I do here, on my blog. The difference is that it is less personal, more fact based (I often spend most of my time here on The Wellness Quest contemplating my own opinions), and reaches a wider audience.

The second thing that has happened is that I have moved out of my aunt and uncles home and have been briefly staying with my parents until I could find a place of my own. And I have just gotten confirmation today that the sublet I applied for is mine. The forms have been signed, checks will soon be written, and I will move out of my parents’ place on Sunday morning!

I can’t tell you how excited I am, and the woman in whose home I will be living – it is a small, furnished sublet apartment in a larger home that is currently occupied by one woman, the owner of the home, Keya – shares many of my ideas about wellness, was born in India, and practices Ayurvedic healing for herself, and also never eats anything other than organic produce, keeps foster dogs, has an aviary, and a large fish pond as well as an organic fruit and vegetable garden. In short, she reminds me quite a lot of my aunt Kate, only shorter and Indian!

I think that things will continue to work out well, and my life seems to continue to move forward as  I let new doors open and allow old habits and patterns to be shut off behind me.

However, I want to recommit to all of you – I WILL be posting every day again. So much is going on, it would be a shame for me to not let you all know about it, and most of all it would be a shame for me to not think about it. And part of what has been so fruitful for me about The Wellness Quest (as a blog, not just as the journey) is that it has forced me to think about my actions, my situation, and the way I am behaving on a daily basis.

I don’t want to lose that.

So we’re back to the daily schedule starting today, September 19th!

Hope you all didn’t miss me too much!

Peace to you and yours,

-Nathan

Here are a couple links to the pieces I’ve written for FeelGoodNow if you are interested in reading them:

Speak your Truth: Creating an Individual or Health Business Blog

Making the Connection – Health Care Businesses and Review Sites

3 responses to “Returning to Schedule

  1. So happy to hear your good news about your new place! I can’t wait to come over and see it, and hopefully meet the shorter Indian version of me!

    I enjoyed reading your pieces on the FeelGoodNow site, and am very happy to be reading your WellnessQuest posts again.

    Hope your body has returned to a state of balance and harmony…..
    Love you….

    • Thank you so much Kate. I have been sending loving and healing energy your way. I am certain that Hope’s transition has been difficult for you, but I know that her peace and freedom is yours as well.

      Love you, and look forward to spending some time together again soon.

  2. Hi Nathan,

    I am so happy that you are blogging once again! I have missed reading about your life! So great that Sunday begins your new life in your own place. Praise God! Our prayers are being answered!

    Love you,

    Aunt Laura

Leave a Reply

