About Family

English: A view of Keats Island from the north.

English: A view of Keats Island from the north. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s 12:15am the night before my sister’s wedding.

 

 

First of all, I have to say I feel absolutely blessed to be here at all. I think there was probably a very good chance that I might have ended up back in Portland or that I might have still been in the hospital.

 

 

But because of my choices and because the universe, God, whatever you want to call it, aligned things in my favor, I am able to be here to witness one of the most important events in the life of the woman who is my sister, friend, and genuinely one of the most amazing people in my life.

 

 

If anything, this blog entry is a tribute to her.

 

 

Yeah, I’m happy to be here. Yeah, I enjoyed meeting new people. Yes, being here on Keats Island brings back an absolute flood of memories for me.

 

 

But this weekend isn’t about me. It isn’t about me at all.

 

 

This weekend is about Rachael, my sister, and Luke, my soon to be brother-in-law.

 

 

And as I just told someone to whom I was talking, I believe with all of my heart that the two of them are meant for one another. I believe in their marriage. I believe in Luke’s commitment to my sister and in hers to him. I believe they have made the decision, fully understanding the implications, to tie their lives inextricably together, and thus, to bind the Howells and Price families in an equally inextricable way.

 

 

Because my family is not one who has “in-laws”. We have family members who are related by way of marriage. But once they are a part of the family, they are a part of the family, and that’s it. It is done.

 

 

And tomorrow, it will be done. And I feel so grateful to be able to take part in final solidification of this bond between our families and to be able to support my sister on what I know will be one of the happiest and most meaningful day of her life.

 

 

My sister Rachael is one of the most wonderful people you could ever meet. She is incredibly talented, yet truly humble. She is beautiful, but unassuming. She is kind, but not cloying. She is supportive, but not codependent. She is quiet, but that makes the words she chooses to speak that much more meaningful. She knows, but she lets you find out for yourself. She is capable of unconditional love.

 

 

And if I had any doubt that she loved Luke unconditionally, I would have my doubts about their marriage. But I have no doubts. None whatsoever. I believe that God, the universal energy, life, fate…whatever you want to call it…has placed them together for a purpose, and that their love and their combined creative energy will make (and has already made) this world a better place.

 

 

From Keats Island, British Columbia, Canada,

 

 

Peace to you and yours,

 

 

-Nathan

 

 

One response to “About Family

  1. Pingback: Coming Home | The Wellness Quest

Leave a Reply

