The Power of Perception

Click Here to Read a Review

I just finished watching a video of Bruce Lipton explaining his ideas about New Biology. The presentation was based on his book The Biology of Belief. Or at least, much of the content was similar, just delivered in a more condensed form. Still, the YouTube video is separated into two parts, both of which are over an hour long. So lots of information. Click here to be directed to Part 1 of the video.

If I had time, I could probably write an entire essay based on just a fraction of the content in the video I watched tonight. If you have an hour to kill, I suggest you watch it, or at least part of it. It is worth your time. In fact, I’d go so far as saying that watching this video might be significantly more important than anything else you’ve planned on doing.

Yeah, it is that earth shattering.

Let me give you an incredibly simplified breakdown. First, the assumption that nearly all of us have absorbed through the mis-information propagated by our flawed system, namely that our genes control us and, to a certain extent, dictate our behavior – that assumption is patently untrue.

If you are anything like me, you have gone through your entire life with the firm knowledge that your genes, as they were passed down to you by your mother and father while you were still in the womb, are set in stone and immutable. And you also have always known (since you were old enough to understand the concept) that your genes or DNA created the way you look and the way you feel and to some extent the way you act.

I knew what DNA was at an early age. You see, my parents had to explain Cystic Fibrosis to me. They had to find a way to make me understand that me being constantly sick as a child was not my fault. And they told me that because of a flaw in their own genes, I also had received a faulty set of genetic instructions that caused my body to work improperly.

So you see, I’ve always known that my genes dictate much of the way I relate to my world because they have caused this life-changing and self-defining illness that has no cure and is rooted in the unchanging code written in my DNA.

Bruce Lipton destroyed that belief for me tonight.

He explained, with absolutely undeniable scientific reasoning, that our genes do not control us. In fact, it cannot control anything because it is the proteins that determine how our cells read our genetic code. And that because those proteins respond to external stimuli, and because those stimuli are directed by our brains, and our brains choose which stimuli to send to cells based on our perception of reality…you see where this is going, right?

The conclusion is a bit overwhelming: that our perception actually influences and controls the biology of our bodies at the micro-cellular level.

My first reaction was one of shock. Not at the revelation, but that, as Bruce stated, this information had been around for many years, but I had never heard it presented in this way. In fact, I had never really heard it at all, except as a touchy-feely, unsubstantiated idea proposed by men with ponytails and long beards wearing hemp tunics or women with unshaven legs and armpits (read, hippies).

So yeah, I was shocked that I had either been denied this information or that I had been too dense to listen to it when it was presented to me. A little of both, I think.

I honestly don’t know enough yet to go into detail and I think that it would be better for you to learn about this from the source rather than through a third party. So if you really want to understand this stuff, I again suggest you watch Bruce Lipton’s video.

But I will give a “take-away” or application.

I’m writing this because the revelation this information produced in me was so powerful. It was so powerful that I had to share it with you.

Now, I have been a consummate skeptic since the age of about 16. Why? Partly because I learned that people are selfish and they lie and that things are often not what they seem. And partly because when you’re a teenager, being skeptical and aloof is “cool”. And damn it, I wanted to be cool.

But over the last 10 years (the last 5 of them especially), I have begun to realize that skepticism is deadening. Growth only comes through belief. That is what Bruce Lipton is ultimately proposing. That our cells and thus, our bodies, are directly affected by our perception of the world which is directly affected by what we believe.

I’ll share an example from today. I think I explained that I had a sore elbow yesterday. It was still hurting when I woke up today. Now, if I believed that I had injured something and that it was going to prevent me from exercising and that I was going to need to go to the doctor…I would have, in fact, made that belief come true. But because I firmly believed that there was no serious injury and that I was perfectly capable of performing my normal routine, that is exactly what happened. And I can say that without taking so much as an ibuprofen, I feel zero pain in my elbow at this moment, despite the fact that I went through my full exercise routine including weights.

My belief dictates my perception which causes messages to be sent from my brain to my cells which causes the proteins in them to respond which causes genes to be expressed which literally changes who I am at the deepest biological core.

If that realization doesn’t change the way you look at the world…well, I don’t know what would.

So, what does that mean about how we relate to the world around us every day?

I think that it means we need to be open to the universe. We need to use the power of our beliefs to adjust the way we function at the cellular level. All it takes is replacing the negative, self-destructive beliefs with positive, life-affirming ones.

That might sound easy, but anyone who has tried to change a bad habit knows this isn’t as easy as it sounds. It is something that takes work and focus and energy.

But is it worth it? I think I’ll answer that with another question: is it worth the time and energy it takes for me to change my beliefs if the outcome is increased health, wellness, peace, and longevity?

Hell yes.

And I’ll leave you to chew on that till tomorrow. Goodnight all,

-Nathan

4 responses to “The Power of Perception

  1. Pingback: Science or Science Fiction? « The Epigenetics Project Blog

  2. Pingback: The Biology of Belief « The Epigenetics Project Blog

  3. Pingback: Anger vs Acceptance | The Wellness Quest

  4. Pingback: What You Are~Who You Are? « Life is Mysterious

Leave a Reply

